hashtag: follow Friday…

so, i’m going to piggy-back off of Instagram today and do a #followfriday.

instagram is, hands down, my favorite social media outlet.

it’s a place where i can land my phone pictures that capture quick and or meaningful moments from my days.

it’s a place where i can follow others on adventures i will never get the chance to have and in my seeing the world through their eyes, i feel inspired to better capture the little world i live in now.

it’s a place where i can get ideas for anything from home and gardening, to travel and sightseeing, and so very much more.

it can be tricky though too, just like any social media outlet.

in those little square frames where i am free to like or comment, i have to realize i’m seeing only a small frame of what may be a completely different reality.

01-IMG_759303-IMG_758202-IMG_7575

(^^our cherry trees yielded well this year and thanks to a friend loaning me their cherry stoner, we made quick work of several gallon for the freezer.)

for me, when i don’t like something or don’t have anything to say, i walk away.

and, that’s how i treat instagram.

my real life has enough real life drama that i don’t feel the need to enter into more drama through social media in any way shape or form.

04-IMG_759807-IMG_763508-IMG_763911-IMG_7668

sure, there are things i see there that bother me, but it’s not my reality and it’s not my place to enter in and try to rectify a wrong i’m not (in real life) a part of.

so, these are just a few of the things i like about instagram style of social media.

it works for me.

and, i really didn’t intend for this to be a rant about instagram, but there you have it nonetheless.

12-IMG_767310-IMG_7662

(^^new potatoes from the garden for supper the other night. YUM!)

back to #followfriday.

when i first entered the blogging world some 8 years ago, i spent more time reading other blogs than i do now.

i still have a small handful that i really love and those i am going to share here today.

(i will say right off the bat, that i do not completely agree with some of these bloggers and or their ways of life, and that is mine and your free choice(s). my likes and dislikes for these spaces are obviously based on what i see thru images and words framed and filtered for social media and i am well aware these are not the whole of their reality. just like there is much more going on in my life than what i post here, i am sure the same can be said for these.)

09-IMG_7658

Kelle Hampton is still one of my most favorite bloggers.

i love how she captures moments, how she writes with a wide range of emotions, and how she has stayed the course with her blog and continued to be the blogger i first followed several years back.

her photos are, as she put it, ‘organic’.

i love that about her blog space; photos that are not perfect, and more importantly, not photo-shopped beyond reality.

of course it’s small frames and maybe not all of her reality, but i’m not going to keep giving that disclaimer.

you know what i mean.

15-IMG_768614-IMG_7683

Grace Lee Cottage is a space i enjoy for home inspiration and DIY ideas galore.

 

to me, seeing her transform her kitchen space especially with easy, cost-effective steps is inspirational.

beings we are in that state of DIY here in our old farmhouse, blogs like hers are a breath of fresh air.

the post on her kitchen counter top paint job gives me hope for our nasty white counter tops to someday have a new life. πŸ˜‰

16-IMG_768913-IMG_7678

Yan Palmer.

i follow her instagram feed and sometimes i’m like ‘nah, that’s not going to cut it’ and then other times, most times, i just get a kick out of her work.

her blog is sporadically updated and she’s into film images, but i just like how she captures the everyday, the unstaged and the (sometimes) ugly truth.

her words are sometimes shallow and sometimes deep.

i think you either like her style or you don’t.

for now, i like it.

20-IMG_769919-IMG_7698

now, for Elizabeth Marie, i can say that i have met her and her reality and it’s the real deal.

she has the cutest family, the most doting husband, and she herself is one of the nicest people you will ever meet.

if only the distance were not so great between her state and mine, i am just sure we would do a lot of things with her and her family.

one time they came to visit us when we lived in Pennsylvania, and my husband and i often talk about that weekend and how much we all loved them.

21-IMG_770222-IMG_770823-IMG_771217-IMG_7695

(^^if it looks like i have chickens everywhere, it’s because, well…i do. )

i’ve met other bloggers in real life that i could also endorse as being the real deal.

this old world is actually not just full of people that are not what they say they are.

there are some, yes, but as my brother in law once put it to me, ‘there’s actually a lot of good people out there.’

and, with these words, i am going to wrap it up.

i hear the kids waking up and tromping downstairs and within moments, i am going to be hit with a barrage of ‘what’s for breakfast?’ and truth be told, we’re getting company for the weekend, so i need to get back to the old list of things to do.

24-IMG_771526-IMG_771825-IMG_7714

have a lovely weekend, friends!

06-IMG_7620

β™₯~R

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “hashtag: follow Friday…

  1. Sherilyn M. says:

    Almost, alllmost you have me convinced to do Instagram myself. 😜 For the very reasons you mentioned, but I still don’t know if I could pull off the authenticity thing, it seems for me it’s so easy to project something that’s not realistic. 😦 I do think though many, many people do an awesome job of it though! I follow Kelle and Elizabeth too– it’s so neat you got to meet Elizabeth in real life! It seems like they have such a neat family, and would be so down to earth in a good way… Gotta say too, love Brent’s pants, makes me grin, aren’t 6 yr old boys just the greatest. Gotta run, my mounds of laundry are calling. Xo

  2. I don’t even know what I am missing without Instagram until you post such things. πŸ™‚ The thing is I do not have a smart phone. I still pull my little Canon point and shoot out to take pictures of things. Maybe if I ever go smart phone, I will try out Instagram. I love your pictures and all the chickens. We have four chickens. My gift for today was watching my kids, watching the chickens through the window. They just love them. Them loving such things is my favorite.

Leave a Reply

