etcetera

since it’s not Monday, i guess i can’t call this Miscellaneous Monday.

so, i’m going with etc.

this could also be the post titled ‘where the pictures are sort of blurry and the house is LIVED IN!’

IMG_6177

so, this is basically a montage of things that don’t go together, but are worth mentioning none-the-less.

i’m frying hamburger for quesadillas for supper.

i like to add spinach into our diet whenever i can, and why not in a quesadilla?

IMG_6196

i had my mom and sister and sister-in-law over for brunch yesterday.

nothing fancy; just a chance to get together.

IMG_6184IMG_6180

it lightly snowed last night.

so peaceful.

IMG_6208IMG_6205

Christmas is a week from tomorrow.

i finished my shopping up Tuesday, AND wrapped all the goodies last night after the kids were in bed.

yay me!

i’m still vascilating on the teacher gifts, but i’ve got a start on it:

IMG_6199

i need to make peanut brittle, more caramel corn, and some pumpkin rolls yet before the holidays.

the kids watched Little House on the Prairie.

turns out, they’re kind of living that these days too.

IMG_6190

this is the ‘island’ we made from the drawers of an old desk that was here, and an old barn door that one of my neighbors in PA gave to me.

IMG_6200

i LOVE it.

so much.

it also accomplishes the dream i always had for my scale:

IMG_6174IMG_6172

someday, the floor will be different in this room.

until then, linoleum lives on.

i am so not a fan.

but, little by little we will get to where we want to be in this house.

IMG_6176IMG_6168IMG_6218

as circumstance would have it, i have a chicken tractor and 8 chickens on loan right now.

it’s such a simple thing, but i am SO excited to have them.

hopefully in the spring i will get my own flock and have them somewhere else, but for now, this is perfection.

IMG_6155IMG_6157

this is called: ‘smile for me so i can send a picture back East!’

always a good time:

IMG_6160IMG_6161IMG_6162IMG_6163

this post could also be called: ‘why i won’t be using my 18-55mm lens anymore.’

what a mess of blur.

my amazon wishlist has an alternative option on it, but alas, i’ll be saving my change for a ‘leetle’ while yet. =)

it’s time to go to the ‘listen and do’ program at the library.

be back soon.

love,

Rachel

 

 

6 thoughts on “etcetera

  1. Love your kitchen ceiling and the scale! Something I’m learning as I take more pictures is that if I’m too far from my subject, and have too low of an f-stop, the pictures can be blurry. Don’t know if that would help you at all or not 🙂

    • I know what you mean!! Turns out this lens is actually broken but I thought I’d give it a try… It served me well for a long time but it has bit the dust.:( I love my 50mm though so it’s not as though I’m lens-less.:)

  2. Heather says:

    I love that you had your mom, sis and sis-in-law over for brunch. I tell my sister that if we lived in the same area we probably wouldn’t actually get together as much as we think we would. I’m glad you’re taking advantage of being near them! Love your posts and your pictures!

  3. The island is awesome! Love old doors – so fun to just have your mom and sis and sis in law over.. that’s the stuff I miss most living far. And that barn door and wreath and sweet kiddos- blurry or not, it’s great!!

    glad you’re blogging again :)))

Leave a Reply

