Homemade Bread

after longer than i wish, i’m here again.

hello.

i’ve missed this space.

missed it and yet, have had enough distractions that i’m not sure when i would have been here before now.

but, i’m hoping to get a few blog posts in over the next couple weeks before we move again.

yes, we are moving again and this time i am beyond excited and anxious and READY!!!!

not that our being here the last six months has been for naught, it’s just that we’ve been anticipating this next move since January, and we are so very, very excited for this next big phase of our journey.

but, back to today.

one of my INSTAGRAM friends asked if i could share my bread recipe.

and, since typing all that out on my iPhone isn’t my idea of a good time, i thought i would post the recipe here instead.

now, before i go any further, some disclaimers:

i am, by no means, a bread making expert.

i love making bread, but i am extremely critical of my own homemade breads.

i make a variety of recipes, and am always game for trying another new one.

i do not grind my own wheat.

but, someday i would really love to because i think that fresh ground wheat makes homemade bread better than better.

if you give me a loaf of homemade bread from your kitchen, i will undoubtedly think it is 100% better than what comes from my kitchen.

however.

this recipe that i am currently making is definitely one of my all-time favorites.

we all love it.

a lot.

i will still continue my quest for the next recipe that is an improvement over this one, because that’s how i am, but for real.

this recipe is not too shabby.

i hope that if you make it you enjoy it as much as we do.

/////

Whole Wheat Bread

01-IMG_4261

1 cup warm water

3 pks. (or, Tablespoons) dry yeast

2 Tablespoons honey

Combine and stir until dissolved. Set aside.

04-IMG_4273

1 1/2 cups milk, scalded

2/3 cup oil

1/3 cup brown sugar

2 Tablespoons sorghum molasses

4 teaspoons salt

Combine and stir until melted, and then add:

2 1/2 cups warm water

ย When this is lukewarm, add yeast mixture and stir well.

03-IMG_4269

8 cups bread flour

4 1/2 cups whole wheat flour

1/2 cup wheat germ

Combine flours and wheat germ, then add 5 cups of the combined dry ingredients to the liquid mixture beating well with an electric mixer. Let rest for 15 minutes.

02-IMG_4266

Add remaining flour and knead until smooth and elastic; at least 5 minutes.

05-IMG_427606-IMG_427807-IMG_4279

Place in greased pan and grease top.

08-IMG_4280

Cover and let rise until double.

09-IMG_4281

Punch down and shape into 5 loaves.

10-IMG_4282

Cover again and let rise until doubled in size.

11-IMG_4284

Bake at 350 degrees, on a low rack in the oven for 20-30 minutes.

Remove from oven, place on cooling rack and rub butter across the tops.

12-IMG_4285

Cover with wax paper and then a cloth until cool.

Slice, eat, enjoy!

1-IMG_4255

i will be back soon.

happy Tuesday!

love,

Rachel

ย 

6 thoughts on “Homemade Bread

  1. Rachel I’m SO excited to see your new home and all the wonderful memories you are going to make in it! This bread recipe looks amazing! I pinned to I can make a few loafs once the weather cools off a bit.

    PS I really like your new blog format!

  2. That bread looks amazing!! I love a fluffy homemade wheat bread. After you get used to it, store-bought just doesn’t cut it anymore!

    And I am EXCITED about your move too! I really hope you’ll keep blogging through the process, because I’d love to see. ๐Ÿ™‚

    xoxo

  3. Love homemade bread pictures. Like Clarita said ^^^ when you get used to homemade, store bought doesn’t cut it. Certain children will complain a bit should I buy bread..which has to happen sometimes, ya know!

    I was scrolling through my blog list and realized I still have your old blog saved…so I’ve missed lots of your posts.

    I can’t WAIT to see your new house! I’m so excited for you!!!
    How excited you must be! I am really looking forward to lots and lots of pictures. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hope all is well with you. Miss you…wish it was my area you’d moved to instead, but I’m sure you are loving living by your family.

    Happy Tuesday to you.
    XxOo

Leave a Reply

