how are you adjusting?

since that seems to be a commonly asked question right now, why not make it the title for my blog post, right?
the answer?
04-IMG_1672
one day at a time, one foot in front of the other.
05-IMG_1673
there is no right or wrong answer to this question.
and, because the asking of it may or may not be complex, i have trouble actually knowing the answer myself.
it’s like i told someone the other day; ‘when you are where you know God wants you to be, and because He has given so many, many clear signs that this was the way for us to walk, it makes the days of questioning and hard a lot less frequent.’
not that hard and questioning do not happen.
it’s just that when you know you’re in the right place, you can rest in that when the hard and questioning does come.
at least for Tim and i.
02-IMG_1668
it is one thing to move yourself and your spouse 1,200 miles to a whole new life, but when you add in four dependents, it is a whole different story.
that has been a hard piece, to walk this with our kids.
01-IMG_1651
it is not exactly ‘my’ story, their dealing with this in their own ways.
but, it has at times, been hard to watch them struggling with different aspects of this new life.
for Tim and i, we are doing the same things we did back in Pennsylvania.
for our two children in school especially, it is ALL new EVERYTHING.
18-IMG_1648
new school, new way of learning, new teachers, new peers, new schedules, new games played at recess, new Sunday school classes and teachers and curriculum there….the list goes on.
for my one child, change and challenge spurs them on.
for the other one, change and challenge can be overwhelming and exhausting.
16-IMG_177510-IMG_1712
it is really something to try and help those two vastly different ways walk this new road.
i’d be lying if i said the first couple weeks were not hard for my kids.
19-IMG_1655
i shed tears many a time for them and wished i could make it better.
that has been one of the hardest pieces of all of this journey of a new beginning; watching my children struggle and cry through it.
it’s in moments like that that i’ve had to go back to those many clearly defined signs from the Lord that, yes, this is the right thing.
and, it helps and the hard things pass and life does go on.
3-IMG_1697
one blessedly amazing thing about children is their resiliency.
as i’ve watched them return more and more to their happy, ornery, and fighting selves, i have been so, so glad to see them ‘adjusting’ and acclimating back to themselves in this new land.
my two youngest are just doing the same things they did back in Pennsylvania and for them i cannot see that the change has been too hard.
4-IMG_177211-IMG_172913-IMG_173212-IMG_1730
for that i am thankful.
for me, personally?
well, as i said, one day at a time.
i am so happy to be near family that i don’t even know how to put that into words.
every day we go past my parents house on the way to and from school, my brother lives a quarter mile from us, and both my sisters are within about 10 miles of us.
i still just shake my head and laugh about it sometimes.
to think that for 13 years we were 1,200 miles apart and now to be within 10 miles of each other?
it is crazy.
the people here in Kansas have been so very welcoming.
and gracious.
i’ve made big moves like this before, so it’s not all new ground for me.
but, i am in such different places in life now than i was when i last did such a radical change.
i feel like i am cautious and slow in my approach to involvement.
which for me, is right at this time.
05-IMG_1889
our being here in a temporary house makes me anxious at times, and yet i am trying to see this time as a good way to acclimate slowly and find rest from some of the stresses of this past year.
it is good for me to have less to do for a change, although i really do love to be hard at work.
so, while i do not have as much work as i did in my last house, nor as much as i will in my next house, i am forcing myself to be okay with a slower pace for now.
i can’t say it’s second nature for me to slow down.
but, i’m trying to learn this lesson while it’s before me.
and, as i said, one day at a time, one foot in front of the other.

moving along….
Tim and i celebrated 13 years of marriage on the 7th and thanks to my sister watching our kiddos, we spent a fun day together in Wichita.
04-IMG_1791
(not my favorite picture of us, but it’s better than none.)

spring has arrived here on the plains.
although, Monday morning of this week, we awoke to half an inch of snow on the ground.
thankfully, the sun is shining and it is a beautiful day today, so that snow is long gone.
Tim tilled the garden for me one evening last week and then on Saturday, Brent and i put in some seeds.
10-IMG_193111-IMG_194508-IMG_192009-IMG_1926

these two girlies of mine…
01-IMG_190406-IMG_190502-IMG_191007-IMG_1912
the littlest one…oh, she is rotten.
but, we love her.

and, it’s now time to go pick up the school kids.
every time i come here to my blog, i realize how much i miss this space.
i long to post more often, and yet…..
i keep hoping.
i’m also thinking a new name for my blog is in order since i am no longer in my beloved little brown town.
i’m thinking of some ideas for that….
til next time…
1-IMG_1768
with love,
Rachel

10 thoughts on “how are you adjusting?

  1. Yay! I will admit I’ve been craving a “how are you adjusting” post 😉

    It is heart-wrenching to watch your kiddos struggle isn’t it?! But like you said, they will not only adjust quickly but very soon the will be thriving!

    I can’t wait to see your summer garden! Hopefully I’ll be able to get all my cutting flowers seeds sown in the next few weeks.

    Can I just say how much I love that picture of you and Tim? I love it!

  2. I have thought of you SO MUCH, and it was so good to hear a little update. I think the changes for the kids would be the hardest part for me, but then, like you said, they also adjust the easiest too, with time. I’m just so happy for you that you get to be near your family. SO happy. 🙂 Much love from the deep South!

  3. So good to hear from you again. I’m sure one of the hardest things is watching the kids adjust to these life changes. Being that close to your family, wow. 🙂 Can’t imagine. Enjoy it for me. 🙂

  4. Jeane says:

    I love this post so much. The pictures, breathtaking and happy and joy-filled…I feel so happy for you and yet makes me sad you aren’t just down the street. Love you!!

  5. jennie z says:

    It is good to hear from you again on here!

    I am sure it is hard and a little heartbreaking to watch your kids struggle and miss there old home and surroundings…but before long I am sure they will fit in like a pro!

    xo!

  6. wow… lots of big changes. I’m just flat out jealous to hear that you are living with your family!! But, I’m also very happy for you and can imagine you will make many many great memories! =) Your children are just adorable/handsome (pretty sure your oldest wouldn’t be to impressed to be called adorable)…..and I’m glad to hear that they are adjusting and finding their new normal. Loved reading your post and seeing your pics again! blessings…..

  7. Shanda says:

    I can sense the ache in your heart in this new beginning, Rachel! I will be praying for you as you continue to adjust….it may take a while but you seem to have a wisdom about the whole process that will help you!! God is always with you, will never leave you, He never changes, isn’t that a comfort? The pictures are so beautiful, your baby is getting bigger and looks so cute in the dress and leggings! HUGS.

  8. Rachel!!!!! So glad to see you.
    Love all your photos..such a beautiful family. and I happen to really like the picture of you and Tim!
    You are SO pretty.
    I too forgot how close our anniversaries are…Happy Belated Anniversary to you love birds!!!

    I’m glad you guys are settling in. I like how you are taking the time to enjoy the slower pace of living in between houses. I would have a hard time with it too. Us housewives want to feather our nests and DECORATE! and create and it’s hard to do when you’re not in your permanent home.
    But that time will be here before you know it! and I can’t WAIT to see pictures!!! 🙂

    Happy Thursday to you.
    XxOo

  9. “When you are where you know God wants you to be, and because He has given so many, many clear signs that this was the way for us to walk, it makes the days of questioning and hard a lot less frequent.” – That line really resonated with me. This whole year has been such a CHANGE for us. We didn’t move but it was clear it was time for us to resign from our ministry position at our church after being there for 8 years. It has been difficult finding our place since, but we know it was part of God’s plan.

    Now, that you moved to the Midwest, we could meet someday? We have dear friends in Kansas and travel that way about once a year. We are in Missouri.

  10. i spilled over your words.. because, of course, they echo so many of my own. i know! oh, do i KNOW all of what you described here!!! and you’re right – there is nothing like seeing the decisions you make effect your kids and them dealing with the hard and change and it’s just tough. but yes, they will adjust. i love that about kids!!! :)) when we moved here kate and ben especially just hated it. but now.. when we were faced with the choice of moving back to the states this fall they both said they’d rather STAY!!! my heart of course was pulled on all that.. but so glad and at peace with seeing them settled and happy here.

    but even more than your words in this post – the pictures just captured me. i stared for several seconds at each one. they are filled with such light and also light-NESS!! you can see the happy and carefree spirit shining through. and you, my friend, you have never looked lovelier. i know you said you didn’t like that shot of you and tim but it’s one of my favorites i’ve ever seen of you — your face is beaming! i see a relief in you, if that’s even the right word. but thinking from my own experience of living far from family and the difficulties that can bring, yes.. being home brings “relief.” and most of all.. when you know you’re where God wants you, that is a joy that just can’t be matched.

    so happy for this new beginning for you all.
    love you, girl.

Leave a Reply

