speak life…

from my journal recently…
the power of words.
they really can be life or death.
05-IMG_0695
i’ve experienced both life and death through words recently.
and, i wish i could say that the life cancels out the death, but it doesn’t.
it helps to hear words of life after words of death, but what is spoken can not be taken back.
03-IMG_0693
sometimes, i think the way we hear words spoken has a lot to do with where our hearts are in that moment.
i think there are times when words spoken are not meant to be death, but our interpretation can be skewed because of our hearts wounds or vulnerability.
it is then that we need GRACE to intercede and cover the hurt and death.
31-IMG_0691
these verses are LIFE and GRACE and HOPE for those times when words are hard and HOPE seems faint…
“My presence will go with you, and I will give you REST.” Exodus 33:14
10-IMG_0717
“There is a place near me where you may stand on a rock. When my GLORY passes by, I will put you in a cleft in the rock and cover you.” Exodus 33:22
11-IMG_0719
“His presence is a safe shelter from men who seek to destroy with their words.” Psalm 31:20
04-IMG_0694
“When I am afraid I will trust in you. In God, whose word I praise, in God I trust. I will not be afraid. What can mortal man do to me?” Psalm 56:3-4
09-IMG_0715
“The bolts of your gates will be iron and bronze, and your strength will equal your days.” Deuteronomy 33:25
30-IMG_0690
“…your light will break forth like the dawn, and your healing will quickly appear; then your righteousness will go before you, and the Glory of the Lord will be your rear Guard.” Isaiah 58:8
29-IMG_0689
“The eternal God is (my) Refuge, and underneath are the Everlasting Arms.” Deuteronomy 33:27
30-IMG_0690
“Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be Glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations for ever and ever. Amen. Ephesians 3:20-21
06-IMG_0699
~immeasurably more…
grace and power and hope for His glory.
25-IMG_0684
with love,
Rachel

7 thoughts on “speak life…

  1. Oh, my word!!! 3rd paragraph down. About how we hear words. YES!!!! This is so me just this very afternoon. My heart was still racing from the feelings of rejection and your words here breathed calmness again! grace. How I need to give it in the same way I want it given to me!!!

    Such a precious, peace filled post, rach! And the pictures are stunning- just because I live in the frozen tundra land and wish it had stopped snowing in November ;)) I still never tire of seeing snow pictures. Beautifully done.

    xo

  2. you have no idea. could not. unless you have seeing inside my head powers. 🙂
    your words, (and love the scriptures. just love. all of them. especially Isaiah 58:8) are exactly what has been on my heart and mind. and what I NEEDED to read written out, you did so… so eloquently. like soul soothing. thank you Rachel, on this day of sad significance 41 years later, for reminding me how to BE truly pro-life. love you much.

  3. Thanks, Rachel! I had some negative words clouding my mind the last few days. Reading this was refreshing–reminding me to remember words of life and let the others go.

  4. Wow, Rachel.
    I’ve been feeling the negative effects of words spoken, and your words here are like a healing balm. Words have such incredible impact, it is downright terrifying. But thank you for using yours to bring life. I’m so thankful that God is a God of life – even if I need correction, it is still through life, never condemnation. Thank you for this… ♥ you.

  5. Linda says:

    Love the reminder that words are life or death….I have experienced both and aim to give words of life when I speak. I love these verses Eph 3:20-21. Blessings to your week!

Leave a Reply

