a perfect fall recipe…

this time of the year, i seem to kick into baking over-mode.
the crisp, cool mornings and evenings, the smell of fall in the air, and the autumn produce that becomes available all help to jump start this mode for me.
i’ve finished my applesauce for the year, and the pretty jars sitting on the basement shelves give me such a sense of accomplishment.
photo 1(12)
last Saturday evening i pulled out an old issue of Southern Living and made, what is now, my favorite coffee cake recipe.

it was so delicious!
apples are my favorite fruit, so it was not really a hard sell for me.
if you are in the autumn baking mode, and want a scrumptious breakfast for your family this coming weekend, here you go:

Apple Streusel Coffee Cake
1/2 cup butter, melted
2 (scant) cups sugar
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 cups all purpose flour
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
4 large Granny Smith apples, peeled and cut into 1/4 inch thick wedges
Streusel Topping

Preheat oven to 350*.
Stir together butter and next 3 ingredients in a large bowl until blended.
Combine flour, and next 3 ingredients; add to butter mixture, stirring until blended. Stir in apples. (batter will be very thick, similar to cookie dough.) Spread into a lightly greased 13×9 pan. Sprinkle with streusel topping.

Streusel Topping:
pour 2 Tablespoons melted butter in a small bowl, stir in 1/2 cup brown sugar, 2 Tablespoons flour, and 1 teaspoon cinnamon. Add 1 cup chopped pecans, stirring until mixture is crumbly.

Bake for 45 minutes or until a wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. cool completely in pan on a wire rack.
********************
And, another lovely thing about fall?
the light.
it passes quickly, but the evenings are just so beautiful this time of the year.

photo 2(11)

have a happy Thursday!

love,
Rachel

8 thoughts on “a perfect fall recipe…

  1. Rochelle says:

    O I love when you post. (I think i say that every time). I totally agree with the fall baking mode. I see So many yummy things I want to try, your coffee cake looks and sounds yummy. Happy Thurs to you too.

  2. I will be trying out this recipe today! It looks so good and I have a bunch of apples from the market.
    Haven’t done applesauce quite yet…I’m waiting for a specific variety…two more weeks I think.
    I’m doing pear butter this afternoon though…at least that’s the plan for the moment. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Love all your pictures. Thanks for the recipe. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Happy Thursday.

  3. I am suddenly not at all interested in the (sort of) healthy, wholewheat , boring, apple muffins I just made. I think I’ll feed them to the kids and go make myself some of your butter-y, streusel-y goodness!
    And for the record, your kids are stinkin’ adorable!

  4. Laurie M. says:

    This is the first time I ‘ve seen your new blog and was happy to discover you’re still blogging. I love the way you capture things in ordinary days but then I also enjoy the posts on parties you ‘ve planned.(the garden party and hosta chargers–simply stunning). The Kansas pics are fun and so familiar because Hutchinson is my hometown and so many of our vacation memories are there…the water park, the farm, grandparents and cousins. We were there when the wheat had just turned gold and I was completely taken with the fields of wheat and that sky. Thanks for adding a spark of beauty to my day.

  5. I have the perfect hot beverage recipe over on my blog right now, to go along with this scrumptious looking cake! Thanks for sharing, Rachel, and I love the pictures, too.

Leave a Reply

