Beautiful the Mess We Are…

1-IMG_7184
i was listening to the radio today while driving home from picking up a prescription.
and, the Amy Grant song “Better Than a Hallelujah” came on.
i love that song.
always have.
but, today, it reached me in new ways.
2-IMG_7181
in this season where i feel like a mess, where life feels like a mess, it was so good for me to soak in these words….
‘we pour out our miseries, God just hears a melody. beautiful, the mess we are, the honest cries of breaking hearts.’
it’s so easy for me to keep it all in and to think that my miseries matter not to Him.
it’s so easy for me to forget that my ugliness does not define me to Him.
when, in fact, it’s what He wants.
all of the ugliness.
all of the mess.
all of my weaknesses.
1-IMG_4564
yesterday, i was jotting down words as i read in II Corinthians.
(if you’ve read or heard of the Sarah Young books called “Jesus Calling”, i’ve LOVED taking up this style of writing as i read my Bible. if you have the chance, DO IT!)
“my hard times, places, experiences, things, times of wondering, bring about His perfect strength as I give my weakness to Him. And then, the power of Christ will REST upon me!” II Corinthians 12:9b
it seems a theme in my life right now.
my weakness and His STRENGTH.
if you’ve a moment, watch the video i’m linking below.
listen to the words.
and, if you find yourself in the midst of an ugly mess, let the words lift your spirit.

Better Than a Hallelujah

with love,
Rachel

9 thoughts on “Beautiful the Mess We Are…

  1. Jesus Calling is a fav. and I love to journal like that, HIS voice IS that real. and precious.
    I also know that very song. and feel a gulpyness with your transparency & words about weakness—i’m thinking of mine— and HIS strength. love you.

  2. Hicktownfarm says:

    It seems you’re in my head. My mess feels so ugly.so.full.of.weakness. I am also clinging to the song, Overcomer, by Mandisa. And Sarah Young, what a precious gift she has given me. I love you, Rachel, and your heart.

  3. Linda says:

    Thanks for sharing your heart! I can relate to what you are talking about. Weakness and HIS strength. Love the song…Beautiful the mess we are – he hears it like a melody! Prayers and Hugs..Be Blessed today

  4. Rochelle says:

    Wow, how good. Also very good timing for me. Still hard to see the ugly mess as something he loves, cares about and is willing to heal and clean up. Thank you.

  5. mmm.. i had forgotten about that song but have always loved it too. now the words are going off in my head and it’s bringing just a calm comforting sort of feel. ~ my mom gave me both Jesus Calling and Jesus Today a few months ago and i’ve so enjoyed them. i like reading them outloud to the kids in the morning.. you’re right, it’s such a great way to talk back to the Lord, just personalizing it that way.

    so hear you about a theme being His strength in my weakness. raising hand here too! i’m going to watch the video now. thanks for sharing, friend. xo

    • Rachel says:

      Amber…if you can link to my blog? i’m not sure what you mean. i do have a subscribe tab…it’s just under the archives on the right side of the page.

  6. yeah.. to get your posts through email. i’m always missing when you update – several others i’ve subscribed through email and that seems to be the easiest way so far for me to keep up!

Leave a Reply

