Thursday February 14, 2013

as is the case with motherhood, you often, and i mean often, have to lower your expectations.
today has been a perfect example of that for me.

i had visions of many ideas i was going to put together and showcase here for you.
i still have some things that i want to do, but time and energy are not going to allow for me to show them to you.
maybe another year.
so, instead of getting exasperated and frustrated with what could have been, i’m just going to lower my expectations of myself and show you my one idea.
it’s really simple.
last week i had mentioned that i made whoopie pies.
and, someone said that they’d never done that, and someone else said they wanted to, and yet another person said they were hungry for them after my post.
so, i got to thinking more about that.
and, the fact that my family really loves when i make whoopie pies.
now.
i will be really honest and say they are not my favorite thing to make.
or eat.
period.
they’re messy and involved and if i’m going to do messy and involved, i would much rather have pies to show for my efforts.
but, that’s okay.
i’m the only one who really loves pie in this house and the one who least needs to eat it, so…
the majority wins.
so, to give you a super easy and fun idea for your Valentine’s Day….
let’s start with a box of cake mix.


a few years ago, i learned this ‘trick’ from a friend and have pretty much been making whoopie pies like this ever since.
and, since it’s Valentine’s Day, i decided to go with a strawberry flavored cake mix which will give me….
pink whoopie pies!!

here’s the recipe for the cheater whoopie pies:

1 box cake mix (any flavor)
1 cup of flour

the rest of the ingredients listed on the cake mix box (eggs, oil, water)
beat together as directed on the box.
drop by teaspoonfuls onto an ungreased baking sheet.

bake in a 375* oven for 10 minutes.
remove from cookie sheet and cool completely.
spread filling between two cookies.

 
Filling:
1 cup milk
2 tablespoons cornstarch
1/2 cup butter, softened
1 cup crisco
1 cup granulated sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon salt
Cook milk and cornstarch together over medium heat until very thick. Cool completely. Cream together the butter, crisco, and sugar. Add vanilla and salt. Add cooled milk mixture and beat with an electric mixer on high speed for at least 5 minutes. (the longer you beat it, the creamer and lighter it is).

i made most of this batch extra small so that i could give them in these sweet little boxes to some of my favorite people..

so fun.
mostly easy.
i hope you try them.
if not tomorrow, another time.
♥♥
our day tomorrow is really low-key.
i plan to put together some fun little things for the kids tonight after they are in bed.
obviously, the kids will have pink whoopie pies in their lunchboxes!
i’m going to make ham and mashed potatoes and green beans and pink tapioca for supper and we’ll eat it on the fancy dishes and drink our sparkling apple pomegranate juice in goblets and the kids will think it’s the greatest.
and, for Tim, i am so excited about the little gift i have for him.
(i’d tell you what it is, but since he reads my blog…i guess not!)
maybe we’ll drink coffee together after the kids are in bed, or watch a movie.
or not.
we might go out on a date at some point in the near future.
or not.
either way.
tomorrow is going to be a sweet day.
and i wish you a sweet day as well!

  

~R

9 thoughts on “Thursday February 14, 2013

  1. I *completely* get the whole thing of expectations having to be lowered, of MYSELF as much as anyone, and days not going quite as planned…So I love that about you – that you were willing to lay it down and let it go, even though I would have loved to see your great ideas!Pink whoopies, now THAT I would like. πŸ˜‰ We did cupcakes today using that same cake mix. My kind of baking with kids! :)Sounds like a lovely day tomorrow… A date would be perfection, but since we’re not getting that either, we’re going to make it a fun famil evening…Love to you, Rachel!

  2.          That is a really cool idea…using cake mix for whoopie pies…and strawberry cake mix for PINK ones! I love the neat little white bags/boxes for your friends. They are so pretty.        Maybe next year we can hear some more super awesome ideas from you. πŸ™‚ I totally understand this, because it seems like i NEVER get all my ideas and things done…just being a mom takes a lot of my time! Happy valentine’s day!

  3. oh boy, can i ever relate to this one.  i’m up late, decided i don’t care how much sleep i lose… my boys were going to know they were worth it to mom to create some special things for them.  (i enjoy doing it too)  the restorer took me out for lunch today and then we picked up more paint and he helped me get groceries.  hows that for romantic?  yes please.  so tomorrow will be family day/evening with the same kind of evening planned you described.    love the idea you had with the cake mix whoopie pies. i shall give those a try.  and those bags. so darling. may i ask where you got them?  happy valentine to you and yours.

  4. Me too, about lowering the expecations of what you thought you were going to do and then deciding to be happy with that.  It is hard sometimes!I love the idea of using a cake mix for the cookie part of the whoopie pie!  That would cut down on the time, because I also feel like whoopie pies are “too much work” to make very often!  I love it that you even had a heart shaped measuring cup. I mean, seriously, who has one of those around??  Oh, Rachel does!  Also, loved the little bags of goodies for your friends…found myself wishing I was on that list! Happy Valentine’s Day to you and yours. I hope it is a good one!

  5. @singingrachel – those bags!! i was going to mention that and forgot! Cindy actually gave them to me! i LOVED them and was so tickled to pull them out to give away to friends, all the while remembering another friend who had so kindly shared with me! i think they were a Martha Stewart line of some sort…maybe from Hobby Lobby?@appalolly – i have to say, that a friend gave the heart shaped measuring cups to me and i thought they would be PERFECT for that picture. there is a set of measuring spoons too and they’re just so cute! @lifeisadance – @jennieanne84 – thanks to all of your for your replies; i hope your days are all very lovely!♥

  6. i’m the queen of lowered expectations, on myself that is. πŸ˜‰ learning to lower them with people too – mainly my man. poor guy! with all the hype we girls see on facebook and pinterest about valentines, these guys don’t stand a chance. actually tonight he did great. he and ben made dinner for all us girls. so sweet. but yes, i had to let go of some “me expectations” again cause i had my own plans for valentines dinner for the fam. haha! oh, the vicious cycle of learning to YIELD to one another. ;)) anyway. feels as if i went off a bit about all that. didn’t mean to. i think i’m on a sugar high from all the candy i’ve been snacking on today. it’s like halloween.. we have it coming out the wazoo! i love that little whoopie pie idea. and those bags! darling. i’m always curious though.. do you know where whoopie pies got their name? i’ve no idea and each time i see them/ hear of them, i wonder… hope you had a lovely day~ that little kate is a sweetie!! xx

  7. Okay, that is a great idea!!  Steve loves whoopie pies, and I do not make them very often because of how much work they are.  This would make it soooo much easier.  (And I should make them more often because they’re one of the few baked sweets that don’t even tempt me.) πŸ™‚   The bags are so pretty!  I hear you on the lowered expectations, and it’s good for me to hear other super-moms saying the same things I need to do.:)  It’s always nice to know we’re not alone.  :0  πŸ™‚  Your header is fantastic!  You do such a great job with detail shots.@grace_to_be – Your comment made me smile–the part about giving up your plans to allow yourself to be treated at dinner. πŸ™‚  Aren’t those just the craziest adjustments sometimes?  Seriously, who expected sacrificial love to look like that?!?!

Leave a Reply

