Tuesday July 19, 2011

lemons, you make lemonade, right?
or, in our case this past week, when life hands you a funeral out of state, you make a road trip out of it and enjoy it.
a friend of ours father passed away this past week in South Carolina….
and, since death is an important part of life, we wanted to be there to grieve and mourn the loss with our friends.
after much, much rearranging and rescheduling, we left our children with their grandparents and made a little road trip for two out of it.
as much as funerals are not fun, we were excited about the prospect of 3 days away and the thought of seeing new countryside, and just the chance to be….together.

we stopped at Natural Bridge, Virginia…a place of wonder i had never seen before, and one that Tim was quite happy to take me to since it evoked many a fond memory from days gone-by.

the walk back in to the bridge and also the falls was quite beautiful….such lush green scenery…


little creatures….


and, hilarious moments….

^^this would be the one where Rachel nearly falls down the side of the hill while trying to maintain a smile for the camera set up on a tripod. very smart. i know.

but, this one made up for it. i know.

i took hardly any pictures of South Carolina….but, i did capture the plantation just up the road from where my friend grew up….

i was charmed to say the least. i have had this fascination and actually a longing for the South for some time….and, i think part of it can be attributed to the fact that a lot, ALOT of the books i read are set in the South. the way the authors paint pictures of the South fascinates and intrigues me and getting to see a small glimpse of the South in this past weekend was therapy for my soul. i would so have loved a lot longer time there, but, like i said…you make the most of what you get.

and, now, it’s back to the grind…

the next week and a half holds some good times and some not so great times for me…but, i’m gonna take the same approach as i started this post with….
make the most of all of it.
~Rachel

13 thoughts on “Tuesday July 19, 2011

  1. Yeah, a funeral isn’t usually the reason for a get-a-way, but I know what you mean about making the most of it. I think that 3 days alone with Jeremy would be great…for almost any reason.I have never been to Natural Bridge, VA, but I have heard of it. It looks so pretty. And you, my dear, are getting such a wonderful tan! You look great!

  2. Cute pictures of you two… and I have been past that bridge a couple times but never stopped and went to it… I like sight seeing! Days like you just had a very therapeutic, I’m sure. We’ve yet to have a night away together since Emma was born but I imagine we’ll make it happen someday. I’m sad your friend’s father died but glad you got this time away. 

  3. I’m glad you and Tim were able to get away together… that in and of it’s self is a rare gift.  I think it’s wonderful that you were there to support your friends, those are the times in life when you need them the most.What a beautiful part of the country you were in!  So green 🙂  CA is taking on it’s typical “golden” hue, so green looks so nice to my eyes.  Love the pictures of you two… both of them 🙂  I don’t know what the weeks ahead hold for you but I will be praying for you friend!

  4. I am glad that you were able to get away with your husband, although the reason wasn’t the best. I’m sure that your friends were thankful for the support. I know that when funerals come its so hard to know what to say, but its so important to have people there along with you…just standing in rememberance with you.

  5. I just love Natural Bridge, VA.  We are actually from Southwest Virginia.  I am now living in SC.  What part did you travel to?  So sorry for the loss of your loved one.  Wonderful that you were able to enjoy a getaway .

  6. Beautiful pictures!  The natural bridge is very neat and so is that little green insect that looks like it’s made of leaves.You are so pretty…and yes, that picture of you and Tim is frame-worthy for sure. So sorry about the loss of your friend.

  7. Natural Bridge?  Were you honestly an hour and a half from my house?  Oh, except that I wouln’t have wanted to intrude on that just-the-two-of-us-time.  I know how exotic that is no matter where you are.  So glad for you to have that happen.  And even though it took so much schedule rearranging, maybe it was the best gift in the middle of a crazy busy time.  I hope so.  I’m sorry for your friends loss and happy that they have friends like you who stand beside them.

  8. @smilesbymiles – if you actually live an hour and a half from Natural Bridge, then yes, we were that close. i kept wondering where you were in relation to that, and thought it had to be fairly close, but our time was pretty limited, and, like you said i think it was a needed get away in the midst of a really crazy circuit. next time, i Promise we will not come that close and not inform you, k? @TrentTribe – oh really?! we were in Blackville SC….about an hour south of Columbia? very pretty cotton country down there!!!@inanorchard – thank April…you really are the best. later, maybe, i’ll write more of the ups and downs, but for now, thanks VERY much. i so appreciate your kind words. ♥@MartinTreehouse – you REALLY should make it happen to get away. i know how hard it is tho…and, you are especially in between a rock and hard place with spending time apart from your spouse. you have my admiration for being able to do that. i do not know how you do it!@appalolly – yep, you take what you can get. when you can get it. ok…you know what i mean! 

  9. Oh, wow, you were so close to my growing up areas!!!  I’m guessing if you were at Natural Bridge you probably took the 81 from PA–and drove right through Staunton/Stuarts Draft areas?  That’s where my parents and sister live, and where I spent the second half of growing up.  And Blackville is where I was born.  Was this Robin’s dad’s funeral?  

  10. First the shallow part of my comment….a Longerberger mug! I used to sell it, but I was a bad salesperson. All I really did was become a consultant so my family and I could get deals….I actually lost money while selling the stuff. =/  But I have a Great collection! Sorry to hear of your friends father…funerals are always hard.But how nice that the two of you were able to get away for a couple of days. Husband/Wife time is so precious and special.The pictures are beautiful as are you!

  11. Aww, I was so sad to hear about Robin’s dad! That would be such a hard thing for a family to go through. How very kind of you to go and be there for the funeral. We’ve gone to several long-distance funerals and I know what it’s like to try to wrap up so many things last-minute and head out. But I’m sure your presence there meant so much to them!How special that it was just you and Tim! The pictures of you two are so cute! And so good – especially for a tripod! I was trying to figure out what was going on in that first picture because I could tell both of you were laughing so hard. 🙂 It’s adorable!Glad to have you back! I thought about you last week and missed an update from you! I hope your week goes okay… with the things you mentioned, some good, some not so good… That sounds like some rough stuff ahead. May the Lord give you much grace for whatever it is you’re facing! ♥

Leave a Reply

